2006

The 1st Image Guided Therapy Workshop was successfully held on October 19-20, 2006, with over 75 registered attendees. A summary white paper was published in: DiMaio S.P., Kapur T., Cleary K., Aylward S., Kazanzides P., Vosburgh K.G., Ellis R., Duncan J., Farahani K., Lemke H., Peters T., Lorensen W., Gobbi D., Haller J., Clarke L., Pizer S., Taylor R., Galloway Jr R., Fichtinger G., Hata N., Lawson K., Tempany C.M., Kikinis R., Jolesz F.A. Challenges in Image-guided Therapy System Design. NeuroImage 2007 Sep; 37(Suppl 1):S144-S51. PMID: 17644360. PMCID: PMC3780776.

Registration and Attendee List

Registration Fee: US $250.00 payable onsite only by check payable to "BWPO Radiology" or cash. We can not accept credit cards, or payments before the meeting.

Registration: Registration for this workshop is quite simple. To register, please follow two steps:

  1. Create an account for yourself on this wiki by clicking here.
  2. After creating the account, go to the 2006 IGT Workshop Attendee List and add your name, Institution, an email address, and the name of the breakout session you will be attending on Friday.

Goal

The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers developing Image-Guided Therapy (IGT) systems for a 2-day workshop to share their recent advances and to identify synergies in future strategy. The intent of the workshop is to foster community-based development, to share best practices in engineering such systems, to identify gaps in the engineering infrastructure available to IGT researchers, and ultimately to facilitate the transfer of technology among NIH-sponsored research centers.

In this program, we define IGT systems as the integrated devices for therapy delivery that incorporate intra-operative medical imaging, navigation, or robotics. In the lectures and breakout groups of this two-day workshop, we plan to:

  1. discuss system architectures currently used in IGT systems
  2. identify challenges in the design and implementation of IGT systems
  3. identify gaps in the engineering infrastructure available to IGT researchers
  4. identify opportunities and mechanisms for sharing low-level components and high-level architectural design patterns, and
  5. identify opportunities for the National Center for Image Guided Therapy (NCIGT) to help address these challenges and develop an open system architecture as part of its function as a biotechnology resource for the Image-Guided Therapy community.

The workshop will concentrate on the computer science and engineering aspects of such systems, as the clinical aspects have been covered in previous NIH-related workshops. The agenda will include plenary talks that will review technical aspects of IGT as well as breakout sessions in which the participants will concentrate on issues raised by the talks.


Background on this workshop: The initial idea of this workshop was developed in ad-hoc meetings with collaborators across institutions including Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, UNC, NIH, GE Global Research, Kitware Inc., and Brigham and Women's Hospital. The Program Committee welcomed and encouraged suggestions from the IGT community on the content of this workshop until mid July, 2006, when the program was finalized.

Sponsors

We would like to gratefully acknowledge our industry sponsors whose financial support is helping us keep the registration fee low.

  • GE Healthcare
  • Siemens Corporate Research (SCR)
  • Northern Digital (NDI)
  • Medtronic Navigation
  • Brainlab
  • Acoustic Med

If your company would like to sponsor the workshop, please send an email to tkapur at bwh.harvard.edu for additional information.

Hotel Logistics

Date: October 19-20 (Thursday-Friday), 2006.

Location/Hotel: The Doubletree Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, 1750 Rockville Pike, Rockville, Maryland 20852. Phone number: +1 (301) 468-1100. Room rates for the meeting were US $166/night (+ applicable taxes) for reservations made prior to September 29, 2006 12am using the group code "BRI". After that date, rates revert to the regular ($300+/nt) and we are unable to get the hotel to release additional rooms at the lower rate.

Please note that the conference hotel only has rooms blocked for October 19th night. If you are need accommodation for additional nights, a conveniently located area hotel is the Ramada Inn, 1775 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852. Phone (301) 881-2300.

Subway Information

Subway Map

  • Directions from Washington Reagan International Airport (DCA) to the Doubletree Hotel:
    • Take the Yellow Line to Gallery Place
    • At Gallery Place, switch to the Red Line (going toward Shady Grove)
    • Get off at Twinbrook; the Doubletree is across the street

Program Committee

Ferenc Jolesz, M.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital, is the Workshop Chair. The program committee includes:

  • Kevin Cleary, Ph.D., Georgetown
  • Peter Kazanzides, Ph.D, Johns Hopkins
  • Keyvan Farahani, Ph.D., NIH
  • Bill Lorensen, M.S, GE Global Research
  • Stephen Aylward, Ph.D., UNC, Kitware Inc.
  • Randy Ellis, Ph.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Ron Kikinis, M.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Clare Tempany, M.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital

Organizing Committee

  • Simon DiMaio, Ph.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Noby Hata, Ph.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Dan Kacher, M.S., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Eigil Samset, Ph.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Tina Kapur, Ph.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • William M. Wells, Ph.D, Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Marianna Jakab, M.S., Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Debbie O'Shea Begley, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Workshop Coordinator
  • Katie Mastrogiacomo, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Workshop Staff

Agenda

The agenda for the meeting is available here as PDF and MS WORD documents.

Thursday, October 19, 2006

Friday, October 20, 2006

For Program and Organizing Committee:

  • 3:30-4:30pm: Data gathering and documentation planning

Community Links

OpenTracker

Related links contributed by Ziv Yaniv

Contact

For further information about the program please contact: Tina Kapur (tkapur at bwh.harvard.edu)

For further information about the registration please contact : Debbie O'Shea Begley (djo at bwh.harvard.edu)

If you would like to be added to the mailing list for the workshop, please contact: Marianna Jakab (marianna at bwh.harvard.edu)

List of Attendees
 

1. Purang Abolmaesumi :: Queen's University :: purang at cs.queensu.ca
2. Arnon Amir :: IBM Research, San Jose, CA :: arnon at almaden.ibm.com
3. Stephen Aylward :: Kitware, Inc. :: Stephen.Aylward at Kitware.com
4. Debbie Begley :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: djo at bwh.harvard.edu
5. Luc Bidaut :: MD Anderson Cancer Center :: lbidaut at mdanderson.org
6. Jeff Biegus :: Northern Digital Inc :: jbiegus at ndigital.com
7. Michael T. Brown :: GE Global Research :: brownmt at research.ge.com
8. Clemens Bulitta :: Siemens Medical Solutions :: clemens.bulitta at siemens.com
9. Everette C Burdette :: Acoustic MedSystems, Inc. :: clifb at acousticmed.com
10. Ed Chaney :: UNC :: chaney at med.unc.edu
11. Patrick Cheng :: Georgetown University :: cheng at isis.georgetown.edu
12. Laurence Clarke :: National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health :: lclarke at mail.nih.gov
13. Kevin Cleary :: Georgetown University :: cleary at georgetown.edu
14. Zohara Cohen :: NIBIB/National Institutes of Health :: zcohen at mail.nih.gov
15. Ram D. Sriram :: National Institute of Standards and Technology :: sriram at nist.gov
16. Simon DiMaio :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: simond at bwh.harvard.edu
17. Jim Duncan :: Yale University :: duncan at begrow.med.yale.edu
18. Randy Ellis :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: ellis at bwh.harvard.edu
19. Andinet Enquobahrie :: Kitware, Inc. :: andinet.enqu at kitware.com
20. Keyvan Farahani :: National Institutes of Health :: farhank at mail.nih.gov
21. Gabor Fichtinger :: Johns Hopkins University :: gabor at cs.jhu.edu
22. Sven Flossmann :: BrainLAB, AG :: sven.flossmann at brainlab.com
23. Bob Galloway :: Vanderbilt University :: bob.galloway at vanderbilt.edu
24. David Gobbi :: Atamai, Inc. :: dgobbi at atamai.com
25. Dan Groszmann :: GE Global Research :: daniel.groszmann at med.ge.com
26. David Gustafson :: Abla-Tx, Inc. :: dgustafson at abla-tx.com
27. John Haller :: National Institutes of Health :: hallerj at mail.nih.gov
28. Steve Hartmann :: Medtronic Navigation :: steve.hartmann at medtronic.com
29. Chris Hasser :: Intuitive Surgical, Inc. :: chris.hasser at intusurg.com
30. Noby Hata :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: hata at bwh.harvard.edu
31. Antony Hodgson :: University of British Columbia :: ahodgson at mech.ubc.ca
32. Scott Hoge :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: shoge at bwh.harvard.edu
33. David Holmes :: Mayo Clinic College of Medicine :: holmes.david3 at mayo.edu
34. Ferenc Jolesz :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: jolesz at bwh.harvard.edu
35. Tina Kapur :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: tkapur at bwh.harvard.edu
36. Peter Kazanzides :: Johns Hopkins University :: pkaz at jhu.edu
37. Ali Khamene :: Siemens Corporate Research :: ali.khamene at siemens.com
38. Ron Kikinis :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: kikinis at bwh.harvard.edu
39. Marcin Kociolek :: National Institute of Standards and Technology :: marcin at cme.nist.gov
40. John Kroon :: ImageGuide :: johnkroon at earthlink.net
41. Jochen Kruecker :: Philips Research :: jochen.kruecker at philips.com
42. Cynthia Landberg :: GE Global Research :: landberg at research.ge.com
43. Heinz Lemke :: University of Leipzig :: hulemke at cars-int.org
44. Abraham Levy :: NCRR/National Institutes of Health :: levyabra at mail.nih.gov
45. Haying Liu :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: hliu at bwh.harvard.edu
46. Hector Lopez :: NIBIB/National Institutes of Health :: lopezh at mail.nih.gov
47. Bill Lorensen :: GE Global Research :: lorensen at crd.ge.com
48. Katie Mastrogiacomo :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: kmast at bwh.harvard.edu
49. Desikachari Nadadur :: Abla-Tx, Inc. :: dnadadur at abla-tx.com
50. Chris Nafis :: GE Global Research :: nafis at crd.ge.com
51. Xenios Papademetris :: Yale University :: xenophon.papademetris at yale.edu
52. Grace Peng :: NIBIB/National Institutes of Health :: penggr at mail.nih.gov
53. Terry Peters :: Robarts Research Institution :: tpeters at imaging.robarts.ca
54. Steve Pieper :: Isomics, Inc. :: pieper at bwh.harvard.edu
55. Steve Pizer :: UNC :: pizer at cs.unc.edu
56. Eigil Samset :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: samset at bwh.harvard.edu
57. Guy Shechter :: Philips Research :: guy.shechter at philips.com
58. Eric Shen :: Philips Research :: e.shen at philips.com
59. Jeff Stanley :: Northern Digital Inc :: jstanley at ndigital.com
60. Chuck Stevens :: Ascension Technology Corp. :: cstevens at ascension-tech.com
61. Clare Tempany :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: ctempany at bwh.harvard.edu
62. Kirby Vosburgh :: Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School :: kvosburgh at partners.org
63. Ziv Yaniv :: Georgetown University :: zivy at isis.georgetown.edu
64. Dwight Yen :: Food and Drug Admin :: dwight.yen at fda.hhs.gov
65. Terry Yoo :: National Institutes of Health :: yoo at nlm.nih.gov
66. Joel Zuhars :: GE Global Research :: joel.zuhars at med.ge.com